Final Exam Update

Hi all,

I just got back but I have been trying my best to answer all of your email queries. Here is an update that will help us all. Please let as many people know as possible. Feel free to forward my emails to your peers if you think it will help them.

  1. The due date for turning it in was intended to prevent technological issues from causing panic during the actual exam period. I will not have any time to troubleshoot whether or not you shared it correctly with me or why your audio will not play, because I have to grade these quickly and during that time. Please do not email me to see if you shared it correctly – you should watch the screencast or get help from the tech staff.
  2. The “due date” is actually a “share by date”. I will not check anything except to see that you have SHARED it successfully. Although I don’t recommend this, you can continue to work on your VoiceThread all the way up to the exam period. It doesn’t matter how early you shared it.
  3. Please name/rename your VT by period and first name(s), but do include a title “slide” if possible. See below:

 

P.S. The Modern Matrix:

After looking at the comments left on the blog, I realized that everyone who left a comment was pretty much on the same page. So I just re-worded your suggestions.

Keep in mind that if you use fewer images, the "balance" between narration and analysis will shift toward analysis; whereas, if you use dozens of images, the balance will shift toward narration.

2 responses
What would you like the ratio between analysis and narration to be? Thus far, we have spent more time communicating the story and ideas, and less analyzing the images. Is that okay? Or would you prefer more analysis? Thanks!
Here's an answer you will not like. IT DEPENDS. If you have a ton of images/slides (20-30), it might be 4:1 ratio of narration to analysis, but if you have 5 images/slides, it might be 1:1. Get it?